• Home
  • Students: STEM Careers

STUDENT STEM environmental CAREERs

STUDENTS!

Do you care about the planet?

Are you looking for environmental career connections?

Do you want to know about the specialized training and skills needed for these careers?

Do you want to see how what you are learning is connected to real world jobs?

Ohio Environmental Career Ambassadors are ready to help!

Download Student Brochure here

These environmental professionals can:

  • Give you great information about specific jobs and careers.
  • Provide shadowing opportunities and internships.
  • Mentor you as you select a career and plan what to do after high school.

 To connect with an environmental professional contact the EECO Director at director@eeco-online.org 

Choose a job that fits your educational needs and interests – from a HS diploma to advanced training (could be a professional certificate or a two/four year college degree or post-graduate work).  Fields include:

*Air Quality

*Environmental Health and Safety

*Recycling

*Green energy

*Water Quality

*Recreation and Parks

*Fish and Wildlife

*Forestry

*Soil Quality

*Sustainable Development


 Career Chat Videos 


Greg Orr: greg.orr@epa.ohio.gov  Environmental Scientist for Ohio Environmental Protection Agency 

Beth Whipple:  bwhipple@holdenfg.org, Horticulturist for Holden Forests and Gardens; Holden Arboretum

Roberta Washburn, CoO of Third Sun Solar


Julian Narvaez-WienerLand Steward at United Plant Savers (UpS Americorps).  Contact Manager@unitedplantsavers.org for volunteering and shadowing opportunitiesOur website for those who want to visit, hike, or get involved in a different way: https://unitedplantsavers.org


Kelly Capuzzi,  Environmental Specialist with the Division of surface water, Ohio EPA

Kelli Herrickkelli@tinkerscreekwatershed.org   Watershed Coordinator for Tinkers Creek Watershed Partners

Julie Berbari: jberbari@summitoh.net; Summit Soil & Water Conservation District Stormwater  Specialist 

Rachel Easter: rachel.easter@daytonohio.gov; City of Dayton; Water Bacterial Chemist

Kylee NicholsKylee@ruralaction.org AmeriCorps Member with Rural Action's Watershed Program


Joe Brehm: joe@ruralaction.org;  Environmental Education Director at Rural Action. 


Patrick McClung,

 Patrick.Mcclung@duf6.pppo.gov  Facility Manager Mid-America Conversion Services, LLC 


Miyah Dunford: miyah.dunford@daytonohio.gov; City of Dayton Water Reclamation; Research and Control Specialist

Amy Dingle: amy.dingle@metroparks.org; 5 Rivers Metro Parks; Director of Outdoor Connections

Jacob Miller: jacob.miller@daytonohio.gov; City of Dayton: Madriver Wellfield; Wellfield Supervisor

Ann Bonner: Ann.Bonner@dnr.ohio.gov; Ohio Department of Natural Resources

Division of Forestry; Urban Forester

Maya Canaztuj: MCanaztuj@mcdwater.org; Miami Conservancy District; Hydro Technician;

Meg Maloney: maloneym11@udayton.edu; City of Dayton; Sustainability Specialist; Environmental Science Grad student at University of Dayton

Katie Norris; katie.norris@daytonohio.gov: City of Dayton: Dept of Water: Division of environmental management;  Environmental Scientist;

Olaf Isele: olaf.isele@gmail.com; Cincinnati Private Consulting; Environmental Product Creator;

Connie O’Conner: coconnor@cincynature.org; Cincinnati Nature Center; Education Director;

Marilyn Dufour: Marilyn.Dufour@toledo.oh.gov; City of Toledo Division of Environmental Services; Environmental Specialist;

Jared McGovern, Curator of Conservation Programs at National Mississippi River Museum and Aquarium / and Riverworks Discovery. 


Kat Zelak- Education Coordinator for Clermont Soil and Water Conservation District  Contact: kzelak@clermontcountyohio.gov



Jamey Emmert - Wildlife Communications Specialist- ODNR  Contact: Jamey.Emmert@dnr.ohio.gov 


Brian Becker - Deputy Legal Counsel - ODNR

Contact:Brian.Becker@dnr.ohio.gov 


Ryan Bourgart - Ohio EPA

Contact: Ryan.Bourgart@epa.ohio.gov


Tim Lohner- Consulting Environmental Specialist, AEP   Contact: twlohner@aep.com


Brenda VanCleave, P.E., Water Resources Engineer, OSU  Contact: vancleave.13@osu.edu


Jackie Bray - Associate Director, RAPTOR, Inc.

Contact: jackie.bray@raptorinc.org




Tom Frank - Wildlife Officer 

Contact: thomas.frank@dnr.ohio.gov


Dylan Long- Wildlife Educator

Contact: dylan@bruknernaturecenter.com



Joyce Martin - Environmental Attorney

Contact: joyce.m.martin1@gmail.com




Barbara Ray - City of Dublin

Contact: bray@dublin.oh.us


Dr. Chris Ball - Research Scientist at The Ohio State University

Contact: ball.51@osu.edu


Melissa Proffitt- Warren SWCD

Contact: Melissa.Proffitt@co.warren.oh.us


Eric King - Great Parks of Hamilton County 

Contact: eking@greatparks.org



Kylie Johnson - Civic Garden Center of Greater Cincinnati Contact: kjohnson@civicgardencenter.org

Dennis Clement - Ohio EPA

Contact:dennis.clement@epa.ohio.gov 




Scott Denamen- Wildlife Officer - 

Contact: Scott.Denamen@dnr.ohio.gov


Julie Gee - Naturalist - Contact:Julie.Gee@dnr.state.oh.us


Allison Shaw- Naturalist .mp4 - Contact:shaw@metroparks.net 

Useful Links:

STEM Rising | Department of Energy

  Digital Internship Gallery of OSU Students

  Waste and Drinking Water Careers for Urban Youth

  Student Personality Quiz for Green Jobs

  Student Brochure download

  Student Career Chat Poster

https://www.stemjobs.com/5-top-stem-environment-careers/ 

Students who are looking for a career in Science and Research here is a great site: https://kids.niehs.nih.gov/topics/environment-health/meet-the-scientist/lab-coat/index.htm



Program sponsored by


Environmental Education Council of Ohio 

Ohio EPA, Office of Environmental Education


The Ohio State School of Environment and Natural Resources

 

 

 






Students reviewing training materials
Instructor and students from a session.
Graduates with certificates


  • Home
  • Students: STEM Careers
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software
UA-139532112-1